Glen Durrant Wins Third BDO World Championship Title In A Row

Glen Durrant Wins Third BDO World Championship Title In A Row

Glen Durrant BDO

Glen Durrant won his third BDO world title in a row on Sunday but now looks set to deflect to the rival PDC sooner rather than later. Durrant became the first man since legend Eric Bristow, who died last year, to win three straight titles. Bristow, nicknamed the Crafty Cockney, won his three titles over three years ending in 1986 before the PDC was even in existence.

Duzza collected his record-equalling win courtesy of a 7-3 win against two time champion Scott Waites at the Lakeside Club. Mirroring Michael van Gerwen’s PDC victory 13-days earlier, Duzza won the opening leg on Bull, took down 25 legs, hit 25 out of 54 doubles. He won by a 7-3 score line and finished the match on double 16, exactly the same as MVG, who also collected his third World Championship.

Durrant averaged 96 over Waites’s 91 and also landed three more 180s than his rival. Scotty 2 Hotty, who was crowned champion in both 2013 and 2016, took the game to his opponent in the first half of the match, landing his second 160 checkout of the tournament with the scores tied at 3-3. That was as good as it got after he lost the seventh set 3-1 and never really recovered. Waites briefly took the lead in the 10th, in one last attempt to save the match, but a string of missed doubles allowed Durrant to land a 114 checkout to close out the match.

2019 Darts Masters Draw

We’re now just two weeks away from the 2019 PDC season getting underway, which begins with the Darts Masters. Taking place at the MK Arena in Milton Keynes from February 1-3, the Masters is the traditional first event of the season. The event is made up of the top 16 players on the Order of Merit and will be broadcast on ITV4.

Newly restored PDC World Champion Michael van Gerwen is out to win his fifth Masters title in a row and has rightly been installed as the pre-tournament favourite at 10/11 with Betway. He is followed in the betting by 9/2 shot Gary Anderson and Michael Smith at 8/1. Rob Cross is the fourth priced favourite at 10/1, two points cheaper than Peter Wright, which says a lot for the way Wright played last year. The Gentle, Mensur Suljovic is available at 22/1 ahead of James Wade’s 28/1 before Adrian Lewis, Daryl Gurney and Gerwyn Price who are all 33’s with Betway.

Friday February 1

First Round (Best of 19 legs)

  • Daryl Gurney v Dave Chisnall
  • Mensur Suljovic v Simon Whitlock
  • Gary Anderson v Darren Webster
  • Michael van Gerwen v Jonny Clayton

Saturday February 2

First Round (Best of 19 legs)

  • Gerwyn Price v James Wade
  • Rob Cross v Joe Cullen
  • Michael Smith v Ian White
  • Peter Wright v Adrian Lewis

Sunday February 3

  • Quarter Final 1 (Best of 19 legs)
  • Quarter Final 2 (Best of 19 legs)
  • Quarter-Final 3 (Best of 19 legs)
  • Quarter-Final 4 (Best of 19 legs)
  • Semi-Final 1 (Best of 21 legs)
  • Semi-Final 2 (Best of 21 legs)
  • Final (Best of 21 legs)
Read More