Darts Premier League Betting Tips And Predictions Night 12

Darts Premier League Betting Tips Night 12

Pete’s DPL Betting Tips for Night 12

  • Jonny Clayton has thrown more 180s than any one else in this year’s Darts Premier League and I expect him to outscore Joe Cullen in the night’s opener at 6/4 with bet365.
  • Back James Wade to take his match with Michael van Gerwen all the way and get it over the line with a 10-9 win for 9/1 at bet365.
  • With a 10-9 score line, bettors can get 5/6 on there being over 16.5 total legs in the same match, again at bet365.

All of these betting lines were correct at the time the article was posted.

The 2022 Darts Premier League table has a new leader after Jonny Clayton defeated Michael van Gerwen in Thursday’s final in Aberdeen.

After knocking out both of the Scottish players on his way to victory, the Ferret was required to overcome a hostile crowd who heckled and whistled for much of the night.

It was Clayton’s fourth final of the season, and he now joins MVG as a three-time nightly title winner, moving one point ahead of the Dutchman.

Clayton managed to average 103.4 in an excellent battle with van Gerwen, who had earlier seen off Gerwyn Price and James Wade, both with 6-3 score lines.

Bet365 Bonus Code
Get up to €100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365 Bet365 Review
Min deposit €5 Up to €100 in Bet Credits
Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code BET247 can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.

Angry MVG

Mighty Mike also averaged 103 and looked set to win when he opened up the tenth leg with a 180 followed by a 140 but was unable to shake off Clayton who responded in kind.

After surviving a match dart, the Welshman then broke his rival’s throw with a brilliant 84 check out that finished off an 11-darter.

That set the Ferret up for the win as a frustrated van Gerwen’s game crumbled and his composure went in the deciding leg, angrily throwing his darts, before he exchanged heated words with match referee Russ Bray, over his handling of the noisy Aberdeen crowd.

Play now moves on to Dublin where hopefully things will be a little more peaceful.


James Wade v Michael van Gerwen

We get underway with a contest between James Wade and Michael van Gerwen.

No one boasts a better tournament average than Mighty Mike who has been looking close to his best for a few months now.

That makes Wade’s task all the tougher on night 12.

The Machine has the second lowest tournament average but has reached three out of the last four finals and was a winner a fortnight ago.

Nevertheless, it looks like more points on the board for the Green Machine who should come through over the regular Machine.

Gerwyn Price v Joe Cullen

Time is running out for Gerwyn Price who is enduring a very disappointing Premier League campaign once again.

Reaching the playoffs would have been the minimum expected of one of the pre-tournament favourites who has suffered a broken hand and also missed a night through covid so far this year.

All the same, the Iceman insists his hand isn’t bothering him anymore, but he was still out first round a week ago when losing to MVG.

Realistically he and tonight’s opponent, Joe Cullen, both with one win each, desperately need a deep run this week in order to begin making up lost ground on the top four.

Amazingly, Price hasn’t posted a ton plus average in this tournament since Nottingham on night six, which is a run of seven matches.

Cullen lost out to Peter Wright last week but has shown a much improved game since his 6-1 defeat at Leeds three weeks ago.

Although in the lesser form of the two, you just feel like Price will put on a show at some point and with the clock ticking that moment needs to be now.

The Iceman has only really put in one good performance so far, which came in Belfast on a night where he produced two nine dart finishes, and back across the Irish Sea once again, I think he will come good once more.

Michael Smith v Gary Anderson

Next up we have a match between two of the best darts players with absolutely no form at all.

Still, someone’s got to win, and I believe that will just about be Michael Smith.

In nine attempts, they haven’t won a quarter-final between them, but did meet in the night six final when it was Gary Anderson who came out on top.

Smith sits one place above the bottom placed Flying Scotsman and is the only player left in the tournament without a nightly win.

Bully Boy does however have a higher 180s per game average and a better 180s per leg average than Anderson.

Assuming they both play to their present levels, Smith should win this, if only because of the maximums.

Jonny Clayton v Peter Wright

This one should be the match of the round.

Top of the table takes on the world number one and reigning world champion.

Premier League leader Clayton is making a great effort of defending his Premier League crown and he has won his last five quarter finals.

However, Wright has won eight out of  his last 11 in the opening contests himself which is the same amount as the Ferret.

The pair also have an almost symmetrical leg difference of plus one making this a really tough one to call.

But, purely on account of The Ferret having the throw in a potential decider, I’m backing the Welshman to overcome Snakebite in the night’s final first round encounter.


James Wade (7/4) v (4/9) Michael van Gerwen

Gerwyn Price (1/2) v (13/8) Joe Cullen

Michael Smith  (4/7) v (11/8) Gary Anderson

Jonny Clayton (8/11) v (11/10) Peter Wright 


Michael van Gerwen – 11/4

Jonny Clayton – 4/1

Peter Wright – 9/2

Gerwyn Price – 5/1

Michael Smith – 7/1

Joe Cullen – 11/1

James Wade – 12/1

Gary Anderson – 14/1


Michael van Gerwen – 2/1

Jonny Clayton – 13/5

Peter Wright – 10/3

James Wade – 7/1

Gerwyn Price – 9/1

Joe Cullen – 14/1

Michael Smith – 40/1

Gary Anderson – 125/1


PlayerNights WonMatches WonLeg DifferencePoints
Jonny Clayton215+1326
Michael van Gerwen315+4125
James Wade112020
Peter Wright111+120
Joe Cullen19-915
Gerwyn Price*16-911
Michael Smith05-158
Gary Anderson 14-157

*pulled out of Night Five with injury


Venue: 3 Arena, Dublin

Dates:  28/04/2022

Format: Best of 11 legs (first to six)

Current Champion: Jonny Clayton

Where To Watch: Sky Sports Main Event HD & Sky Sports Action HD

When To Watch: 19:00 UK